In the event of a cross-up can the catcher visit without penalty?

No, a conference is charged for the catcher to go out to talk to the pitcher if conferences remain. However, if all 6 charged conferences have been used and the umpire feels it is important from a safety perspective that he and pitcher make sure they are on the same page giving and receiving signals, the plate umpire can allow the catcher to go out for a brief conference. The umpire will accompany the catcher much like they treat a potential injury to the pitcher. As long as the signals are quickly confirmed, there is no penalty.

Add Feedback