With the new rule for intentional base on balls coming from the head coach, will there be wording that this constitutes a play/attempted play or pitch for the purpose of nullifying the defensive teams right to appeal? Runner misses first on a double. Batter enters box and head coach tells the PU to put him on. No pitch was thrown and no play/attempted play took place. By rule (8-6-b, pg 82), there was no pitch, can there still be an appeal?
After a potential missed base, it is the defensive team’s responsibility to appeal in a timely manner. If the next batter steps into the box and the defensive head coach indicates to the plate umpire that he wishes to intentionally walk that next batter, he has lost his option to appeal. The indication of an intentional base on balls takes the place of throwing 4 pitches to the batter; therefore, the indication to the umpire is the same as a pitch or play for purposes of this rule.