If there is an injury on the field and trainers or coaches come on to the field to assist a player, can the defense go to the mound while the offense or defensive player is being attended to?

Yes, however, if a different player is injured and a coach comes out to visit with the pitcher, it is a charged conference.
If the pitcher himself may be injured, handle that the same way as we always have. Coach can request to check on the pitcher’s potential injury and plate umpire should accompany the coach to the mound. If pitcher is OK and no other strategy is discussed, it is NOT a charged conference.

Add Feedback