During a charged trip to the defense, an offensive coach (first, third, or bench) leaves their position to confer with the batter, and the batter does not leave their position, is this a charged offensive conference?

Incidental conversation that is brief and does not delay the game is not a charged conference. But if someone leaves their position to confer with a member of their team, it is. The offense does not get a free conference during a defensive charged conference under the new rule. If they were 20 feet away from each other, either the base coach was a long way from his position or the batter also left his position to meet the base coach part way, charge a conference, but remember the offense has 3 to use. If the coach takes a few steps and has an encouraging statement for the batter, there is no charged conference. 

Add Feedback